Work or Play

IMG_3011(Click on photo for best resolution)

*

When I was young my favorite toys were plastic horses. I didn’t just collect them and put them on a shelf. No, I got them out almost daily and played with them. I played make believe because we didn’t have computers or the Internet or prefabricated play barns or stuff like that. Instead I used empty shoe boxes and the legs under the dining room table to “build” my stable and house my trusty steeds. I “fed” my horses shredded Kleenex for hay and made up lots of elaborate stories about wild ponies that needed to be rescued and trained. Naturally, I always played the part of the heroine cowgirl.

*

 When I got a little older I progressed to the real deal. And I’ve never looked back. I’d like to imagine the young lady in the photo is a lot like I was at her age; more happy being with real horses than collecting them and putting them on a shelf.

7 thoughts on “Work or Play

  1. Pingback: Did I really have a favorite toy? | Rob's Surf Report

  2. Pingback: Bears, Teddy and Otherwise | The Silver Leaf Journal

  3. Pingback: By A Show Of Hands, Who Played With Barbies… That Still Had Their Heads? | Molly Greye

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Toy Story | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  5. Pingback: Friendly monsters | Natasha's Memory Garden

    • Your mom probably knew that one horse would lead to …. dozens more? LOL! I used my horses for Barbie too. Sometimes the scene was about Barbie, but often it was more about the horses and Barbie was just a prop. Good times, that! Thanks for dropping by and sharing your memories.

Leave a Reply

