April 11, 2012

*

I decided last minute on a bit of a whim to go for a ride. I don’t have the surgeon’s OK to be riding, but I couldn’t let another week slide by without riding. The weather is so screwed up that it could be 80 next week and buggy and I will have missed the entire spring. Since I live for spring and fall riding, I HAD to go against my better judgement and ride.

The second risk I took was that I decided not to lunge Dharla first. Yes, she’s stood around for three weeks and one small groundwork session aside, has done nothing, but for some reason I just thought it wasn’t necessary to lunge her first. We had so many great rides this winter that I felt I could skip this step. And I’m happy to say she behaved like a champ! No bucks, no hops, no silly spring nonsense! (yes, one or two mild spooks, but she’s an Arabian!) Now granted, I didn’t do anything goofy or crazy, but still. I’m loving this girl’s no nonsense approach to things more and more all the time!

We stuck to the AL trail and did some very nice walk/trot transitions and extended trots. I was tempted to move her into a slow canter a few times, but I decided not to push my luck on my first ride back. If the weather holds I’d like to try to get back out tomorrow for a little meander through the woods. It feels great to be back in the saddle again!

7 thoughts on “April 11, 2012

  1. Spring is always a bit of a rodeo, isn’t it? I’m between horses right now, and when looking at prospective horses I can’t help but wonder “are they always like this, or is it just spring?” I’m glad it went well!

    • Oh yes! You never quite know what you’re going to get in early spring. Fortunately, we got to ride a lot this winter, which I think helped keep her settled and on task. But still … they can fool ya! Good luck with your search!

      • Thanks – I actually just bought a new girl! She’s an Arab x named Cece. It’s a bit of a gamble – she was very underpriced due to a previous leg injury, but I couldn’t see any trace of soreness or limping so I decided to risk it!

Leave a Reply

