April 6, 2012

*

I’m still unable to ride, which is frustrating to say the least. In rethinking this whole eye surgery thing, perhaps I should have waited until the dead of summer to have it done, since I don’t typically ride once the outdoor temps and humidity creep up. I dunno. It’s too late now to cry over spilled milk.

I’m allowed an hour up and about for every hour I spend face down. That’s a good deal compared to having to be face down around the clock like I was all last week. So yesterday I took Dharla down to the ring and worked with her a bit on basic stuff like backing, and moving the hindquarters and shoulders. I wasn’t sure if I was ready to lunge her or not. My vision is still very impaired. My sight in the right eye is blurry from being dilated and I have almost no depth perception. That tends to throw off my equilibrium. It’s been a couple of weeks since I’ve done anything with Dharla and I didn’t want to allow her to get into a position where she might try to take advantage of my impairment.

Still, I wanted to try, so we just started out with a walk/trot on a shorter line. She was so well behaved and listening nicely that after a few minutes I decided to switch over to the long line and see what she would do. She ended up working very well for me. She got a little feisty at the first clockwise canter, so I decided to let her have at it and then when she wanted to come back down I continued to push her more. That made an impression on her the next time I asked her to pick up a clockwise canter she was all business.

All together we worked about 45 minutes, which was long enough work up a little sweat. The gnats were getting nasty, so we headed back up to the barn. On the way back I stopped to let her munch a little green grass in the front yard. She gets kind of worried when we go someplace she’s not used to going, but the lure of the green grass soon had her ignoring her fear. Aldo had left to go riding with Bullet, so when we got back to the barn I hung out and brushed Dharla and combed out her mane and tail. I gave her a nice pile of hay and we just kept each other company for a bit. Dharla always seems to enjoy being with me and she didn’t holler for Bullet at all until after I left the barn. When she gets worried about being alone, all I have to do is step out the front door and call to her and she settles down. I think she just wants some reassurance that she’s not alone. She’s such a smart cookie, that girl!

It felt great to be able to spend some time with my horse. I’m really itching to go riding and I hope I get the thumbs up to start again next Friday!

4 thoughts on “April 6, 2012

  1. Speaking as another horse mom I totally understand your frustration. Had my own experience with this kind of drought. The great thing is that ground time is every bit as important, if not more so, as time in the saddle. Dharla will appreciate you just being there with her and will help get you through this. … Get well soon, Dorothy šŸ™‚

  2. I need a hip replacement and cannot even do ground work with my gelding so I too am flustrated as I can’t walk well enough to even lead my fella. Good luck with your recovery don’t rush it your sight is very important.

Leave a Reply

