Jan 2, 2012

I didn’t ride yesterday or today. I’d planned to try to get out today. I knew it was going to be one of the last days before the really frigid temps roll in, but it wasn’t meant to be. The wind was already whipping by the time I went out to feed, making it feel MUCH colder than it was, and as it turned out, the temps dropped steadily from then on.

I came in from feeding to find a phone message from my herding instructor. I have a standing Monday morning herding lesson, but we hadn’t touched base in a couple of days and I wasn’t sure if she was taking Monday as a holiday or not. I returned her call knowing full well that it wouldn’t take much for me to bag out on my lesson. I’m a fair weather herder.

Turns out she wanted to know if I was interested in going to look at a couple of horses. She’s horse shopping and my horse’s trainer knew of three prospects she could see at the same farm where he runs his training barn. I figured what the heck …. I didn’t have anything else planned. I knew it would be frigid, but I could bundle up and (worse case scenario) sit in the car if need be.

It was a good time. Great barn, nice people, good horses. Cold as hell though. Lots of wide open fields and water-logged ground from all this miserable rain. Ug. I was literally shaking in my boots from the cold despite dressing in several layers. It made me think back to last winter when I was horse shopping myself. I swore I’d never do that again in the winter, but there I was standing out in the middle of an open, semi-frozen field watching a friend test-ride two horses. (She passed on the third horse)

I don’t know what she’s looking for, but both horses were pretty nice. I especially thought she “fit” the little reiner she rode. I suspect she’ll want to go back for a second test ride, but I’d seriously consider him if I were her. He has a lot going for him and the owners are motivated to sell since they have their eye on another horse and can only afford to board two horses. But that’s me and I guess time will tell.

It was great having a chance to hang out a bit with Dharla’s trainer. Every time I’m around him I learn something new. Well, several somethings. And he’s just a nice guy to boot.

Perhaps I’ll get a chance to get out on Dharla tomorrow before the temps plummet. If not, it will be a few days before it warms up enough to give it another try.

Leave a Reply

